The Safest Place In the World

The safest place in the world, as storms buffet and fear like white water pounds on the soul as we sail as voyagers through this crazy idea known as “life” can only be found in the arms of Jesus. Everyone wants to believe in their heart of hearts that Jesus can, with one word, hush the storms in our frenetic lives, but we know that sometimes his plans for us do not entail the quieting of a storm in our lives, whether it be fears emerging again, forgotten and long-buried, or the disturbing notion of seeing a new storm arrive as a person sees relationships slowly beginning to crumble as they watch from the outside looking in, unsure of what action is necessary to do. However, through it all, despite the kneejerk anger (or indifference) and the fears, one small still voice remains throughout it all as worries of abandonment resurface and coils of a storm begin to realign themselves, and we can be comforted.

In the words of the pop song by Scott Krippayne, “Sometimes he calms the storm/with a whispered “Peace, be still”/ he can settle any sea/ but that doesn’t mean he while/sometimes he calms the storm/other times he calms his child.” (A link to this song is here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1zwNf_CNmo any case any one would like to hear it.)

This part italicised has oft brought to my mind the image of flurries of wind and dark skies, while in the foreground Jesus holds a person close to him. As a very young child, I was oft beset by constant fears – I was afraid of loud noises (like trains), afraid of scary movies, afraid of storms, even if it was just a gentle thunderstorm, and though those fears have dribbled away as the years pass, they are now replaced by new ones such as the fear of being abandoned by those I love, which has become the foremost anxiety for me.

Yet, in spite of the storms buffeting me in my own way right now and the new anxieties plaguing me, I have the promise of the words of the Bible echoed in this song “For I will never leave you or forsake you,” which appears first in Deuteronomy and Joshua, when God is telling is his plans for his people as Joshua is chosen leader of Israel, and to reinforce it, Joshua (“Salvation”) is the one who later relays to the children of Israel that blessed promise again in Joshua 1:5 before they are encouraged to in the later periphery to keep in mind: “This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, and you shall meditate in it day and night, for then you will make your way prosperous, and you will have good success.”

It intrigues me that we as Christians as advised to meditate in the Bible, upon first seeing this verse I thought “Wouldn’t ‘on’ have made more sense?” But the answer is no, it doesn’t. God calls us to meditate in his Word because in doing so we are exploring him, and that is a privilege for us, his Image-Bearers.

People are so multi-faceted and even though you might be close to someone, there’s always going to be a surprise lingering there, because as deep and full and rich as our Creator is, we reflect that attribute of him just by interacting with common, everyday, ordinary people, although C.S Lewis reminds us that “No one has ever met a mere mortal.”

Hmm…. it appears I rambled off from my main point kind of, but that’s okay, it was a good diversion I think. (My Edublog posts are so much more concise and well-ordered though!)

Anyway, there is one other verse – this time from the Psalms – that I now connect closely to “Sometimes He Calms the Storm,” Psalm 27: 4-5. This Psalm has now become one of my “prayer” verses, and it is very fitting for such a purpose:

“One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: To dwell within the house of the Lord all of the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord, and to inquire in his temple.

For he will hide me in his shelter (the place of safety) during the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent, he will lift me high upon a rock.”

The second half of that verse segues into the themes of “Sometimes He Calms the Storm” so well, since where else can we be truly, utterly safe though the storms of our lives rage, buffeting us emotionally and physically with each blow, then to be hidden in the very arms of our Saviour? He may, indeed, not calm the storm with a whispered “Peace, be still,” but even as the water rises and the wind howls, safe in his embrace, we have the best shelter – because to be held by Jesus is to indeed, be in the “safest place in the world.” There is no other truly safe place besides Him, and I am learning that as fears rear up their ugly heads again yet I am calmed – since sometimes the storm doesn’t need to still – but our hearts do, so that we may listen and draw closer to him, secure in his embrace – and he will never let us go.

 

 

About tawnymartin

To be honest, I don't really like doing these things - I haven't done the one offered on Facebook either, because I believe - and I know - that it is so hard to try to show fully who a person really is into a little box, anyway, about me though: I am 19 going on 20, and I have a deep passion for books, stories, ideas, and spending time with my good friends, oft just sitting around not talking, just enjoying each other's company; and I love to read the classics of the past that are relevant even today, especially the Bible, which has drawn me back into it countless times, but only recently have I truly began to study and meditate *in* it, although the stories - the ahem, naughty stories - piqued my interest when I was very young, and I sincerely believe C.S.Lewis' statement that "what we want is not more little books on Christianity - but more little books by Christians on other subjects - with their Christianity latent." As an author, I hope to do just that - here and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus, Life, Love and loss, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Safest Place In the World

  1. Pingback: Meditations in the Watches of the Night 101711 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

