What is Church to You?

As Christians, we are all members of the Church, and – often – that means we are members of a church; a place we go to every sunday, a body we actively participate in and get involved in.

The bible speaks often of church, what makes a church, and good governance of the church. Throughout the world, there are so many different expressions based upon the biblical texts about church that it is hard to get a grasp on what church means to us today, and how our churches should function, or even do.

But just because it is hard doesn’t mean it’s not a worthwhile subject to pursue, and so I am going to have a read around, study and pondering on this subject, with the intent on writing up a mini series of blogs about it.

Before all that, I feel strongly that first step in this that I need to take is to ask all of you, the readers, what church means to you; everyone has some experience of the church, and maybe even of being part of one, and I reckon many of you have thoughts, ideas and beliefs about this that are more insightful, fascinating, and wiser than anything knocking about in my head!

If you can help me out by sharing your views and opinions that would be hugely appreciated, as your view is just as valid and important as mine! Whether by commenting on this, or by emailing me (my email address is on my profile) I would appreciate it if you could let me know your thoughts on all – or even just one – of these;

What is a church?
What should church do?
What would a healthy, active church look like to you?
How should a church be run?
Is there a specific way of ‘doing church’ or many? What would you consider a good – or bad – way of doing church, and why?

Thankyou everyone in advance, I look forward to seeing your thoughts and views on this!

God bless,
Trev

20111010-193719.jpg

About trevfrancis

It always seems an odd position to be in; how do you distill yourself into a mere box? The short is, you can't, but I will give it a good go all the same; 23 years I've been on this earth, and 9 of them as a Christian. Books and learning are a passion of mine, as is spending time in good company. The pub is my preferred place for study, and all the wonderful insights I find there from people who I see eye to eye with, even if we agree on precious little. True friends are synonymous with family to me, and I love my family very much. Love walking to clear my head, will walk for miles upon miles if I could. At the end of the day, the best I can think of to sum me up is a pilgrim, far from home, seeking to understand the world he's passing through, and the God behind it all.
This entry was posted in Church, God, History, Jesus, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What is Church to You?

  1. tawnymartin says:

    Oooh, good topic Trev! So apt for so many good discussions! (Also, I hope you saw the comment I posted on one of your posts earlier… ? Also, I have an idea for another post that I’d like to write up , but I’d like to swing it by you first since tis your blog after šŸ˜‰ :)) Okay, hmm…

    A church is a group of believers serving Christ together, although modern terms wrongly associate “church” with a “building” which is distinctly unbiblical, since a church has always been a group of believers following Christ. (However, let’s not bring the concept of “denominations” into this conversation though :P)

    A church should serve Christ in their community and beyond by ministering to others in their church, sending out missions and/or church planting but also extending beyond just that church and into the world so that others may hear the gospel, that’s what a church should do. šŸ™‚

    Ah… now that’s a rather tough question to answer… methinks I’ll leave it open for discussion. More people are coming, right? Also, do you mind if I invite some friends to come and discuss as well? šŸ™‚

    A church should be run following the truths given in the Bible, even if that means that something will have to give if something should disrupt the fellowship of the members of said church. An example I can think of is my own church recently having to excommunicate one of our members since he was refusing to repent and was enjoying his sin, and so it was sadly done. :/

    hmmm… I think I will answer your question with another question (since I am a mite confused by what you mean exactly): what do you mean by ‘doing church’? Do you mean as in ‘liturgy’ or ‘acts of service’? I think your question implies liturgy, but I’m not quite sure, hence my question. šŸ™‚ Haha, I *love* discussions. šŸ™‚

    okay, um, mea culpa that this comment reply was long… I already let your brother how infamous I am for that hehe šŸ˜› and hope to see your own response back to this one soon! šŸ™‚

    God bless!

    T šŸ™‚

  2. trevfrancis says:

    Hey Tawny!

    Cheers for the reply, tis greatly appreciated! To answer the question you posed; when I say ‘doing church’ i mean in terms of format. Some people have house churches, others cafe churches, others have ceremonial and liturgical churches and so on and so forth.

    Hope that helps explain what I mean, sorry I didnt make myself clearer!

    As for whether you can invite friends, of course you can! This is a free and open forum for anyone to get involved; if they want to comment they are free to, likewise discuss and, if they want to contribute articles, then all they need to do is ask and theyll be signed up šŸ™‚

    Thanks again for responding, its really helpful for me to see that šŸ™‚
    God bless,
    Trev

  3. tawnymartin says:

    Thanks for the response Trev! šŸ™‚

    Also, thank you so much for explaining what you meant by that ‘doing church’ question, now I understand much better! Ironically, the church that I belong to right now is a ‘school’ church, meaning that we gather in a high school building, and I do know of house churches as well – those happen most often in Christianity-oppressed countries I can recall, but I’d have to consider it some more before I can decide which way of ‘doing church’ is the most conducive to deeper learning/fellowship!

    Okay, thanks for that! I’ll try and see if I can convince my friend Leah and a few others to get involved, this is such a great idea for all of us Christians (and others of divergent faiths too!) I’m sure they’ll want to discuss, especially since you can log into here via facebook, which is so helpful. Also, since I’m a contributor here, I have been seeing the stats going up as people are reading your posts and it’s all so exciting! šŸ˜€ I’m so happy for you that it’s going so well, and thus I’m finagling a way to bring others in šŸ˜‰

    You’re welcome, glad to help! šŸ˜€

    God bless,

    Tawny

  4. Josh says:

    a group of people who gather together to worship and serve Jesus
    I think the main aims of church are to advance the Kingdom of God, be looking out for other people around you. There are many ways of doing church none are “right” or “wrong” well some of them are wrong, but God gave us all different thoughts and ideas so if all churches were the same it would be boring
    A few rambling thoughts

Leave a Reply

