Before You Talk the Talk, You Gotta Walk the Walk- Why The Church is Slightly Fake Part 3

So, now that we know that the flesh brings death, and following God‘s will brings life, I have an interesting spin for you; what if God wrote you a letter on what is wrong with you? What if God got someone to jot down what is wrong with you, and what you must do about it?

Cue scene; the Island of PatmosAD 97. John must have been at least 75 by now; and he is in jail (again). Whilst he is worshipping God though, something extraordinary happens. This is now what scholars call the Apocalypse of John AKA Revelation.

This book brings alot of debate and divide between Christians; in which many don’t even have a chance in beginning to comprehend or understand what it says (none of us have). All that I know is that there is an interesting bit in the beginning; after Jesus turns up. Jesus gets John to write 7 brief letters; I am going to go through 3 of them with you, as they are most relevant to us today (and I believe Jesus would have known that and deliberately aimed at the people like us as a target audience).

The Message to the Church in Laodicea

14 “Write this letter to the angel of the church in Laodicea. This is the message from the one who is the Amen—the faithful and true witness, the beginningof God’s new creation:

15 “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! 16 But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!

17 You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. 18 So I advise you to buy gold from me—gold that has been purified by fire. Then you will be rich. Also buy white garments from me so you will not be shamed by your nakedness, and ointment for your eyes so you will be able to see. 19 I correct and discipline everyone I love. So be diligent and turn from your indifference.

20 “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. 21 Those who are victorious will sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat with my Father on his throne. 22 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.”

I absolutely love this; don’t you get it? It’s almost as if Jesus is talking directly to the modern day church; full of its riches and falsehoods. And what is the biggest lie moving around the Church at the moment? Yup, the prosperity Gospel folks. The false teaching that we deserve to be blessed; no matter what the situation and circumstance is. And unlike any good lie, it is based in truth; which makes it’s sting even deadlier. God does honour and bless his followers, his children. But it is rarely through money; and even if it is, he expects us to give it away every time. This is a consumeristic lie; one where we come to believe that we deserve more and more, as long as we give into it. This is the biggest spiritual con affecting the church at the moment; one of give freely so you will be blessed even more.

As we have seen in the last two articles, false teachings bring death as they aren’t from God. Jesus addresses himself in each rather short and concise letter he writes to the seven churches; note the adressing here- “the one who is the Amen—the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s new creation,”. He hits it right on the spot; he preaches truth, he preaches life. He is the beginning of God’s new creation, the faithful and true witness.

What the Church is seeing nowadays is full of falsehoods; full of death. Now, let us see what Jesus says about the situation as to how to redeem it:

17 You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. 18 So I advise you to buy gold from me—gold that has been purified by fire. Then you will be rich. Also buy white garments from me so you will not be shamed by your nakedness, and ointment for your eyes so you will be able to see. 19 I correct and discipline everyone I love. So be diligent and turn from your indifference.

He puts it bluntly; invest in him, buy righteous garments from him and open your eyes to the truth. As always, Jesus leaves no middle ground “Be diligent and turn from your indifference,” is his cry; if you aren’t for God, then you are surely against him!

20 “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. 21 Those who are victorious will sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat with my Father on his throne. 22 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.”

The biggest irony of all; the most over-used verse for evangelism is aimed at the Church! He knew that there would be many people around nowadays who aren’t from God but would associate with him; we can all see it. It’s just if we admit it or not which divides us. If you give into Christ‘s demands, he will come into your heart; your mind, your very life, and a share a meal with you as friends would. He goes on to say those who are within him (the victorious ons) will sit with him on his throne!  The irony is the followers of God who care nothing except for the God that made him and his will for them will inherit power far beyond imagination! Blessed are the humble, for they shall inherit the earth indeed.

And now, to move on to another letter that Christ briefly wrote; to the Church in Sardis. Let’s see if you guess who this is aimed at nowadays:

The Message to the Church in Sardis

“Write this letter to the angel of the church in Sardis. This is the message from the one who has the sevenfold Spiritof God and the seven stars:

“I know all the things you do, and that you have a reputation for being alive—but you are dead. 2 Wake up! Strengthen what little remains, for even what is left is almost dead. I find that your actions do not meet the requirements of my God. 3 Go back to what you heard and believed at first; hold to it firmly. Repent and turn to me again. If you don’t wake up, I will come to you suddenly, as unexpected as a thief.

4 “Yet there are some in the church in Sardis who have not soiled their clothes with evil. They will walk with me in white, for they are worthy. 5 All who are victorious will be clothed in white. I will never erase their names from the Book of Life, but I will announce before my Father and his angels that they are mine. 6 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.

So before we were combatting pride and lacking in honesty and truth; now we are combatting in spiritual deafness and deadness. It is rather obvious by reading The Bible and The Apostle’s teachings that it is not by our own strength that we live the Christian life; it is through God. Without God, we are dead.

Now, the stars represent the angels of the seven churches; who happen to be the seven lampstands (Rev 1: 17-20). By him saying “who has the sevenfold Spirit of God,” he is basically saying that he has The Holy Spirit working powerfully within him; like every other genuine believer on the planet. He is basically saying that the Church of Sardis has all of the elements of a Christ- believing church on the outside; but it is dead on the inside- there is no substance there, lacking indwelling of The Holy Spirit.

This is exactly why he demands the church wake up- they have no guide, no Spirit within them. This means that they might as well be asleep; they are innefective, nothing to behold eternally. If they don’t wake up, they won’t be at one with God- they won’t be part of his body, his church. This is why he says “You do not meet the requirements of my God”, because without God with them; The Holy Spirit in this case; they are just another religion- they aren’t Bible believing Christians, they are dead. They may heal some, sometimes they may even prophesy, but they forgot to do the most important part of the Christian faith; commit their lives to Christ. If they did, then they wouldn’t be having this problem, wouldn’t they?

4“Yet there are some in the church in Sardis who have not soiled their clothes with evil. They will walk with me in white, for they are worthy. 5 All who are victorious will be clothed in white. I will never erase their names from the Book of Life, but I will announce before my Father and his angels that they are mine

Even for this Church, there is still some hope. Note soiling their clothes with evil- it is because they have the Spirit within them, The Holy Spirit, that they have not soiled their clothes with evil. It is only through God that we get the redemptive qualities that we need so desperately, not out of our own works and power.

Being clothed in white goes hand in hand with being righteous. God is righteous. Basically it is saying all of those whom are clothed in white are as righteous as God is- this only possible through the redemptive power that Jesus Christ’s sacrifice for all of mankind had on the cross for us. It is only through God that we can get to this stage, never by any work or application we try to do ourselves.

And now, last but not at all least, onto the last letter- to the Church of Philadelphia- the true Church/ bride.

The Message to the Church in Philadelphia

7“Write this letter to the angel of the church in Philadelphia.

This is the message from the one who is holy and true,       the one who has the key of David.    What he opens, no one can close;       and what he closes, no one can open:

8 “I know all the things you do, and I have opened a door for you that no one can close. You have little strength, yet you obeyed my word and did not deny me. 9 Look, I will force those who belong to Satan’s synagogue—those liars who say they are Jews but are not—to come and bow down at your feet. They will acknowledge that you are the ones I love.

10 “Because you have obeyed my command to persevere, I will protect you from the great time of testing that will come upon the whole world to test those who belong to this world.

11 I am coming soon.Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take away your crown.

12 All who are victorious will become pillars in the Temple of my God, and they will never have to leave it. And I will write on them the name of my God, and they will be citizens in the city of my God—the new Jerusalem that comes down from heaven from my God. And I will also write on them my new name. 13 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.

This letter is a thing of beauty- you see no condemnation here. You see a slight criticism (although you are weak), but you can just see God’s love emanate throughout this writing; it is obviously pointed towards the genuine an true Church- with all of its humanity and flaw. But, as we know, those flaws don’t matter in The Lord’s eyes; because he died to erase them out. Because this Church genuinelly and truly believed without fault (not a hard thing to do); they are redeemed and “obeyed my command to perservere”. If you want to see what God would say to the true spiritual Church of today, infilled by the power of The Holy Spirit to bring every member of the body life, here it is.

I hope these words are inspiring for you as much as they are for me- they really do encourage me to keep going with my faith and never to falter or let go of it ever. To finish off, let’s see if Paul has anything to say on this subject of redemption:

The Wisdom of God

18 The message of the cross is foolish to those who are headed for destruction! But we who are being saved know it is the very power of God. 19As the Scriptures say,

“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise       and discard the intelligence of the intelligent.”

20 So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made the wisdom of this world look foolish. 21 Since God in his wisdom saw to it that the world would never know him through human wisdom, he has used our foolish preaching to save those who believe. 22 It is foolish to the Jews, who ask for signs from heaven. And it is foolish to the Greeks, who seek human wisdom. 23So when we preach that Christ was crucified, the Jews are offended and the Gentiles say it’s all nonsense.

24 But to those called by God to salvation, both Jews and Gentiles,Christ is the power of God and the wisdom of God. 25This foolish plan of God is wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is stronger than the greatest of human strength.

26 Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes or powerful or wealthy[g] when God called you. 27 Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful. 28 God chose things despised by the world,[h] things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important. 29As a result, no one can ever boast in the presence of God.

30 God has united you with Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made him to be wisdom itself. Christ made us right with God; he made us pure and holy, and he freed us from sin. 31 Therefore, as the Scriptures say, “If you want to boast, boast only about the Lord.”

a- Revelation 2-3, b- 1 Corinthians 1: 18-31

About LostForWords17

A pen and some paper used to be an effective tool. Now it's a keyboard and a blog. I hope you enjoy my viewpoints and opinions on the world around us and what I believe, feel free to critique and discuss with me at your will.
This entry was posted in Church, God, History, Jesus, Jesus' Ministry and Teachings, Life, Love and loss, Other, Sacrifice, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before You Talk the Talk, You Gotta Walk the Walk- Why The Church is Slightly Fake Part 3

  1. Pingback: 120216–George Hach’s Journal–Thursday | George Hach's Blog

  2. Pingback: 120220–George Hach’s Journal–Monday | George Hach's Blog

Leave a Reply

